From the desk of Australian Alumni Association

Nominations Called for The Australian Alumni Excellence Awards India 2015
The Australian Alumni Association (AAA), India was revived late 2014 by a group of dynamic young alumni based in India supported by the Australian High Commission and Austrade.  AAA aims to be a bridge between Indo Australian alumni and industry, education and government (both Indian and Australian), and the wider community. AAA is a membership driven organisation that serves to connect Indo Australian alumni for fellowship, professional networking and development, mentoring future students and young alumni who are repatriated after their studies in Australia.
About the awards:

The Australian Alumni Excellence Awards India 2015 will be presented by the Australian Alumni Association Trust (AAA) on Saturday, 6th June 2015 in Chennai.
Proudly supported by the Australian Consulate General and Austrade, this premier initiative shall be a high profile event reaching out to business and industry Indo Australian alumni, educational institutions (schools and colleges, universities) and public sector.
The Alumni Awards recognize outstanding achievement by Australian alumni of Indian origin currently living in India, in the fields of:
1.      Entrepreneurship & Industry Excellence
2.      Education&PublicService
3.      Science&Technology
4.      Sports,Art&Culture
5.      Food, Travel, Leisure
6.      Young Achiever Award
7.      Community Service (Citizen of theYear)
Jury Panel

The Awards shall be decided by a high profile jury panel for each category comprising notable leaders in industry, business, science and technology, sports and arts.
The members of jury include eminent people such as:

1.      Ms Kiran Mazumdar Shah, Chairman and Managing Director, Biocon Ltd
2.      Mr Michael Kasprowicz, Former Australian Test Cricketer
3.      Professor Ravi Subrahmanyam, Director, Raman Research Institute
4.      Ms Sheba Nandyeolkar, National Vice Chair, Australia India Council, Director Australia India Council, Director of International Advertising Association (IAA) Australia
5.      Mr David Weston, CEO, Worldwide Business Innovations
6.      Mr Vinod Daniel, CEO Vision Institute and AusHeritage
7.      MrNirmal B, CEO Exnora International
8.      Mr Rajesh Iyer, Director, Migrant Banking & Head NRI Services India, National Australia Bank

About Nominating:

Alumni are permitted to nominate themselves, but they must provide a contactable referee who will second their nomination.

If nominating someone else, the nominating party must acknowledge consent from the Australian alumna/us they are nominating in order for the nomination to be valid. AAA will follow-up with nominated alumni to confirm their consent.

Alumni do not have to be working in the discipline from which they graduated, but it is essential to display an on-going high level of achievement in the award category. Nominees will be assessed according to merit and their achievements in relation to the award category for which they are nominated.

Nominations open on Wed 15thApril 2015 and close on Friday 15thMay 2015. The Awards will be presented at a Gala Dinner in Chennai on Saturday 6th June 2015.

Nominations are open to Australian alumni currently based in India(must spend at least 50% of their time in India) and have worked in India for the past 12 months leading up to the awards.

Nominees must be:
a) Graduates of an Australian University, who studied in Australia;             OR
b) Graduates of an Australian University, who studied on-line;                  OR
c) Graduates of an Australian University off-shore / twinning program.

For further details, please contact:
Mr Sunder Gurusamy, President AAA by email on or phone–+919884025451
Ms Priya Kamineni, Vice-President AAA by email on or phone–+919944936044